At the heart of our efforts, we envision a future where the Earth is universally recognized and managed as the collective treasure it truly is—the ultimate commons. Our aim with each Earth Commons event, is to build bridges between climate entrepreneurs, academics, technologists, funders, NGOs, and international public institutions to explore the funding and governance of nature’s commons. Our vision is to facilitate incentive alignment, cooperation, and accountability to steward the Earth’s precious resources in perpetuity, such as forests, fisheries, oceans, biodiversity, freshwater reservoirs, and other ecosystem services. Themes explored included: - Leveraging emerging technologies and open science to respond to dynamically evolving challenges across complex economic and ecological systems - How we can better support open innovation ecosystems to address critical aspects of planetary thriving - Platforming efforts to mitigate our environmental footprint, including that of emerging technologies like AI and blockchain - Pioneering experiments in new mechanisms for co-designing solutions with nature - How to preserve the humanity and powers of storytelling to inspire global climate action and adoption of new principles - Solidifying feedback loops to drive future innovation and optimize impact evaluation

Register to Attend

Watch the Livestream

About us

Earth Commons was incubated as Sustainable Blockchain Summit from within the Filecoin Green Team at Protocol Labs as a conference series sitting at the nexus of Web3 and Climate. Today, the Funding the Commons Team has inherited the conference series and is building out an ecosystem focused on underscoring the systemic, interdependent changes necessary for progress in governing the largest commons that our collective existence relies upon, the “pale blue dot, the only home we’ve ever known.”
Mission
By harnessing the power of emerging technologies like AI, Blockchain, and IoT, we aim to facilitate incentive alignment, cooperation, and accountability to steward the Earth’s precious resources in perpetuity. Our mission: to transform the funding and governance of nature’s commons, such as forests, fisheries, oceans, biodiversity, freshwater reservoirs, and other ecosystem services, by uniting the forces of Web2, Web3, research, philanthropy, and industry.
Vision
We envision a world where technology and ecology converge to ensure the just governance of planetary resources. By aligning incentives, global talent and emerging technologies, we strive to create new mechanisms for stewardship of the Earth Commons.
Speakers
Alan Ransil
Operad
Allison Duettman
Foresight Institute
Angelo Kalaw
Celo
Aria McLauchlan
Land Core
Atossa Soltani
Amazon Sacred Headwaters
Benjamin Life
Open Civics
Beth McCarthy
Funding the Commons
Bobby (Robert) Fishkin
ReframeIt
Brett Levin
Dietrick Institute for Applied Insect Ecology
Christian Adler
LOOPID
Courtney Savie Lawrence
Dietrick Institute for Applied Insect Ecology
David Casey
Funding the Commons
David Vorick
Glow
Phil Dillard
Thruline Networks
Djimo Serodio
Silvi
Douglas Gayeton
The Lexicon
Elvie Kamalova
Blockstreet Capital
Geordan Shannon
Unexia
Gregory Landua
Regen Network
Jack Manning Bancroft
AIME
Jerry Lin
ClimSim
Jessica Abkarian
Denver Arts & Venues
Jessica Zartler
BlockScience
Jessy Kate Schingler
Open Lunar Foundation
Josh Whiton
MakeSoil
Lauren Turk
Fera Zero
Lynne Twist
The Pachamama Alliance
Matt Prewitt
RadicalxChange
Marco Schletz
Open Earth Foundation
Matthew Monahan
Ma Earth
Matthew Stotts
Cerulean Ventures
Michael Zargham
BlockScience
Megan Klimen
Filecoin Foundation
Orin Ayodele
Earth Commons
Peter Rosberg
Centrigrade.Earth
Samantha Power
Finance for Gaia
Stuart Cowan
Buckminster Fuller Institute
Tony Lai
CodeX Stanford Blockchain Group
William Collins
LBNL
Will Gardiner
Open Agricultural Technology
Zach Lefler
Gainforest
Schedule
APRIL 13
APRIL 14
APRIL 13
APRIL 14
9:00 PST / 16:00 UTC
Doors Open
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
10:00 PST / 17:00 UTC
Welcome & Introducing Earth Commons
Orin Ayodele (Earth Commons)
10:10 PST / 17:10 UTC
Planet.Health: Infrastructures of hope
Geordan Shannon (Unexia)
10:30 PST / 17:30 UTC
Soils and Open Agriculture for Planetary Health
Will Gardiner (Open Agricultural Technology)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
10:50 PST / 17:50 UTC
Fueling Climate Tech: Funding Mission-Driven Startups
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
Phil Dillard (Thruline Networks)
11:20 PST / 18:20 UTC
Inclusive Climate Open Innovation and Systems Transitions: Case of the Circular Design Lab Bangkok
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
Courtney Savie Lawrence (UNDP0
11:40 PST / 18:40 UTC
Bridging Technology and Tradition: White Buffalo Woman x Web 3.0
Jessica Abkarian (IRL Art)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
12:00 PST / 19:00 UTC
Blame
David Vorick (GlowLabs) and Zach Lefler (Gainforest)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
12:20 PST / 19:20 UTC
Rewiring How We are Networked
Jack Manning Bancroft (AIME)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
14:00 PST / 21:00 UTC
Studies of Extreme Weather using Machine Learning and Climate Emulators
Bill Collins (Berkeley National Lab)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
14:30 PST / 21:30 UTC
AI Tech Trees for Ambitious Futures
Allison Duettman (Foresight Institute)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
14:50 PST / 21:50 UTC
The Property Systems That Brought Us Here Will Never Take Us There
Matt Prewitt (RadicalxChange Foundation)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
15:10 PST / 22:10 UTC
Drawing on Indigenous Wisdom for Adaptive Economic Models
Atossa Soltani (Amazon Sacred Headwaters)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
15:30 PST / 22:30 UTC
How Impact Measurement Helps Build Resilient Systems
Lauren Turk (Fera Zero) and Aria McLauchlan (Land Core)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
16:10 PST / 23:10 UTC
Funding the Transition to Regenerative Bioregional Economies through Bioregional Financing Facilities
Samantha Power (Finance for Gaia)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
16:30 PST / 23:30 UTC
Reflections on Building Web3 Ecosystems for ReFi
Angelo Kalaw (CELO)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
16:50 PST / 23:50 UTC
Jaguar Biocredits: A Case Study at the Intersection of Commons and Markets
Gregory Landua (Regen Network)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
17:10 PST / 12:10 UTC
Impactful Capital Allocation in Climate, Ecology and Biodiversity
Matthew Stotts (Cerulean Ventures)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
17:30 PST / 12:30 UTC
Open Innovation for Planetary Thriving
Dr. Stuart Cowen (Buckminster Fuller Institute)
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
18:10 PST / 1:10 UTC
Closing Remarks
Dr. Stuart Cowen
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
9:00 CEST / 7:00 UTC
Doors Open
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
9:00 PST / 16:00 UTC
Doors Open
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
10:00 PST / 17:00 UTC
Welcome
Beth McCarthy (Funding the Commons)
10:10 PST / 17:10 UTC
The Tragedy of our Global Commons Systems - and Ideas for Solutions
Marco Schletz (Open Earth Foundation)
10:30 PST / 17:30 UTC
TBC
Lynne Twist (The Pachamama Alliance)
10:50 PST / 17:50 UTC
Embedding Sustainability into Tech’s DNA
Megan Klimen (Filecoin Foundation)
11:10 PST / 18:10 UTC
Earth Science in an Age of Change
Joe Mascaro (Planet Labs)
11:40 PST / 18:40 UTC
Weaving Together Strategies to Regenerate Our Planet's Life-Giving Commons
Bobby Fishkin (ReframeIT)
12:00 PST / 19:00 UTC
Biodiversity Islands: The Food, Water, Carbon, Community Nexus
Brett Levin (Dietrick Institute for Applied Insect Ecology)
12:20 PST / 19:20 UTC
Blockchain Based Solutions for Climate
Elvie Kamalova (Blockstreet Capital)
12:40 PST / 19:40 UTC
Can You Change the Future? Introducing the Ecological Benefits Framework
Douglas Gayeton (The Lexicon)
14:00 PST / 21:00 UTC
Building for Modern Carbon Credit Markets Using Open Data Frameworks and AI
Peter Rosberg (Centigrade.Earth)
15:20 PST / 22:20 UTC
Perceiving the Earth Commons
Michael Zargham (Blockscience) and Jessica Zartler (Blockscience)
14:40 PST / 21:40 UTC
How to Plant 1 trillion Trees
Djimo Serodio (Silvi)
15:00 PST / 22:00 UTC
Building the Digital Infrastructure for the Circular Transformation
Christian Adler (LOOPID) and Alexis Gamboa
15:20 PST / 22:20 UTC
The Current State of Organizing Collective Ownership of a Commons
Seth Frey (UC Davis), Zarinah Agnew (District Commons), and Zachary Dunivin (PhD Student Indiana University)
16:00 PST / 23:00 UTC
MakeSoil - A Universal Regenerative Experience
Josh Whiton (MakeSoil)
16:20 PST / 23:20 UTC
Towards A Planetary Federation Of Bioregions
Benjamin Life (Open Civics)
16:40 PST / 23:40 UTC
Lawyering for the planet: new cultures of legal practice and new pathways to licensure
Jessy Kate Schingler (Open Lunar Foundation)
17:00 PST / 12:00 UTC
Ma Earth: Funding for Regenerative Land Projects
Matthew Monahan (Ma Earth)
17:20 PST / 12:20 UTC
Decentralized Trust in Environmental Assets and Liquicert
Alan Ransil (Operad)
17:40 PST / 12:40 UTC
Closing Remarks
David Casey (Funding the Commons)
9:00 CEST / 7:00 UTC
Doors Open
Coffee and a light breakfast will be available.
Venue Map
Recent Events
SBS Earth 2023
On August 16th, we hosted the fifth Sustainable Blockchain Summit fully virtual. SBS included 1 jam-packed day of expert talks, workshops, and deep dives. The event featured over 37 top thought leaders in sustainability and web3. Participants came together to coordinate on blockchain, sustainability, and ReFi.
Boston 2023
On April 13th, we hosted the fourth Sustainable Blockchain Summit in Boston. SBS included 1 jam-packed day of expert talks, workshops, and deep dives. The event featured over 35 top thought leaders in sustainability and web3. Participants came together to coordinate on blockchain, sustainability, and ReFi.
Bogota 2022
SBSLATAM brought together 30+ experts & 250+ attendees across web3, industry, philanthropy, and research to discuss sustainable blockchain solutions in Bogotá, Colombia.
Let's be Friends
Join us for the future
We excited to connect with you at our next event, but we'd rather not wait! If you support our mission and would like to get involved, please let us know how you'd prefer to participate.
Follow us
youtube channel
Sign up to receive our newsletter!

Subscribe

* indicates required
General inquiries
Please email us with any questions you have, and we look forward to speaking with you soon!