Apply to Speak

Apply to Volunteer

Apply to Speak

Apply to Volunteer

Apply to Speak

Apply to Volunteer

d:pact is a day summit at the heart of Istanbul during DevConnect, 15th of November, which covers Media, Impact and Regenerative Movements. The summit is co-organized by Merkezsiz, a dynamic web3 media organization in Turkey, and Paribu Hub, the ecosystem hub of cryptocurrency exchange Paribu. It's an immersive experience that goes beyond technical jargon, diving deep into complex technical concepts from a non-technical perspective. Funding the Commons joins d:pact and Regens Unite as a content partner, adding another layer and depth to the discussions. This bustling metropolis is the perfect setting for a conference that delves into the realms of Media, Impact and Regenerative Movements. Its rich history, cultural diversity, and strategic location make it an ideal host for a gathering of forward-thinkers and changemakers. Istanbul's unique position as a bridge between continents symbolizes the very essence of d:pact - bridging gaps and connecting people. It's a melting pot of ideas, cultures, and perspectives, serving as a catalyst for stimulating discussions and forging meaningful connections. Istanbul's vibrant atmosphere fosters an environment where innovative approaches can thrive and drive positive change in our interconnected world. At its core, the purpose of the d:pact summit is to explore pressing questions that define our rapidly evolving world. How does the media influence society? How can we enhance public goods? How can regenerative movements promote sustainability? How does governance shape communities? How does culture impact our identities? These questions serve as our compass, guiding us through fresh talks, workshops, and discussions. In the heart of Istanbul, we invite you to embark on a journey of exploration. Together, we'll intensify our efforts to understand and harness the power of Web3's connectivity. It's not just a conference; it's a platform for collective sense-building and a celebration of the transformative potential that lies within our interconnected world.
Funding the Commons and Bankless join Schelling Point for a morning pop-up summit at the same space where Sessions with Gitcoin x Metagov will take place in the afternoon. The Funding the Commons Pop-Up will have informal, participatory roundtables enabling co-learning with key stakeholders in the public goods funding infrastructure ecosystem, including Juan Benet (Protocol Labs), Kevin Owocki (Gitcoin), Guo Liu (Matters Lab) and unique perspectives from project builders at IPFS, Hypercerts, Octant & more! Jam with us in the morning, then stay for Schelling Point in the afternoon. Please note that registration for FtC Pop-Up does NOT guarantee entry to Schelling Point Sessions in the afternoon, as there is limited space at the venue! Apply to join SP Sessions here.
Speakers
TO BE ANNOUNCED. The call for speakers is open! Please complete an application to let us know you're interested in speaking at Funding the Commons: Berlin 2023.
Abbey Titcomb
Radworks
Alessandro Mazzi
Company
Artem B
Octant
Ayşe Sabuncu
Company
Beth McCarthy
Curve Labs / Funding the Commons
David Casey
Funding the Commons
Feems
DAO Gov Collective & Workonchain
James Farrell
Company
Jonas Seiferth
Optimism
LaNaMu
Company
Matthew Frehlich
Protocol Labs
Raymond Cheng
Open Source Observer
Scott Moore
Gitcoin
Sharfy Adamantine
Company
Speakers
TO BE ANNOUNCED. The call for speakers is open! Please complete an application to let us know you're interested in speaking at Funding the Commons: Berlin 2023.
Ange Royall-Kahin
Radicle
Artem B
Octant
Ataberk Casur
Inverter Network
Beth McCarthy
Curve Labs / Funding the Commons
David Casey
Funding the Commons
Juan Benet
Protocol Labs
Kevin Owocki
Supermodular, Gitcoin
Manu Alzuru
Blockravers
Raymond Cheng
Open Source Observer
Sara Johnstone
NuMundo / Funding the Commons
Schedule
November 15, 2023
November 16, 2023
Each roundtable will start as a structured discussion among listed speakers, then open to moderated interactive discourse with the audience.
14:15 TRT / 11:15 UTC
Funding the Commons: Updates and Pathways
David Casey
14:25 TRT / 11:25 UTC
Measuring Impact
Beth McCarthy
Ayşe Sabuncu
Feems
16:10 TRT / 13:10 UTC
Public Goods Funding Stack
The winners of the first-ever Funding the Commons Fund Public Goods Virtual Hackathon will be announced.
David Casey
Abbey Titcomb
Artem B
Jonas Seiferth
Scott Moore
16:50 TRT / 13:50 UTC
Impact Evaluation
The winners of the first-ever Funding the Commons Fund Public Goods Virtual Hackathon will be announced.
Alessandro Mazzi
Artem B
James Farrell
LaNaMu
Sharfy Adamantine
17:30 TRT / 14:30 UTC
Infrastructure for Real World Claims
Matthew Frehlich
Raymond Cheng
9:00 TRT / 6:00 UTC
Doors Open
10:00 TRT / 7:00 UTC
On-Chain Data As Primitive and Building Block
Building on the prior talk, we’ll double-click on on-chain data as an essential primitive powering safe, scalable flows and structures of information – and a possibility space for incentivizable behavior and mechanism design. From verifying claims to affirming contributions, on-chain data is an a critical design space in public goods.
Ken Beckers (Hypercerts)
Ale Mazzi (Sovereign Nature Initiative)
Ataberk Casur (Inverter Network)
Artem B (Octant)
Beth McCarthy (Funding the Commons)
11:00 TRT / 8:00 UTC
Experience Design for Collective Space
We will share challenges and wisdom gleaned from experience design of community infrastructure spanning digital and physical spaces, from hacker houses to collective work environments. ​After discussing recent and ongoing initiatives, from FtC’s Berlin Builder Residence at MOOS to Fëytopia/Embassy Network and current projects in Istanbul, we’ll engage participants in ideating on what makes these spaces nourishing, sustainable and “successful” and ways to define and measure that success.
Sara Johnstone (Funding the Commons, NuMundo)
Guo Liu (Matters Lab)
Manu Alzuru (Blockravers)
12:00 TRT / 9:00 UTC
Getting to Paretoutopia: Collective Problem Solving for the Public Goods Funding Stack
We will follow up to Juan Benet’s call to action during his “Network Structures for Funding Public Goods” talk on ZuConnect Public Goods Day, for a collective problem solving and ecosystem mapping session. ​Key contributors to the Public Goods Funding Stack will join Juan for a session ideating about how we can establish a strong foundation of mutual support and collaborative work. This is part II of this participatory session, adding onto the work we initiated during ZuConnect during a workshop of the same name. ​We’ll explore ideas such as:
  • ​Ecosystem mapping applying the “blue and green fund” framework
  • Definition of standards, metrics and integration among composable tooling and initiatives
  • What would a state of “paretoutopia” look like, and what is required to reach it?
  • Registry for projects and other anarchiving/ collective knowledge management practices
  • What are we rate limited by? What are people struggling with?
David Casey (Funding the Commons)
Kevin Owocki (Gitcoin)
James Kiernan (Octant)
LauNaMu (Researcher)
Manu Alzuru (Blockravers)
Juan Benet (Protocol Labs)
9:00 TRT / 6:00 UTC
Doors Open
The winners of the first-ever Funding the Commons Fund Public Goods Virtual Hackathon will be announced.
11:00 TRT / 8:00 UTC
Infrastructure & Tooling as Network Goods’ Connective Tissue
​The ability to store, modify and transmit information in a secure, tamper-proofed, privacy-preserving open-source format is not only essential to designing antifragile network goods infrastructures – it’s a network good itself. Expressed in diverse formats, from the smart contract level up, open-source tooling and protocols enable the interstitial framework on which the web of trust is built.
bumblefudge (IPFS Ecosystem Team / CASA)
Raymond Cheng (Open Source Observer)
Kevin Owocki (Gitcoin)
James Waugh (🔥_🔥)
Vengi (Ethereum Ecosystem Support (MetaCartel, PublicNouns, The Open Machine)
Beth McCarthy (Funding the Commons)
Let's be friends
Join us for the future
We excited to connect with you at our next event, but we'd rather not wait! If you support our mission and would like to get involved, please let us know how you'd prefer to participate.
Follow us
youtube channel
Sign up to receive our newsletter!

Subscribe

* indicates required
General inquiries
Please email us with any questions you have, and we look forward to speaking with you soon!