November 2021
Virtual / Nov 11
Join Vitalik Buterin (Ethereum), Karl Floersch (Optimism), Juan Benet (Protocol Labs), and other thought leaders in the first installation of Funding the Commons to discuss novel experiments and future directions for funding our collective commons.
TL;DR - Watch us in Action
Speakers
Vitalik Buterin
Founder, Ethereum
Karl Floersch
CTO, Optimism
Kevin Owocki
Supermodular, Gitcoin
Andrew Critch
Research Scientist, CHAI; Founder, BERI
Raul Jordan
Co-Founder, Prysmatic Labs
Pooja Shah
Head of Product, Protocol Labs
Miles Jennings
a16z General Counsel, Crypto
Marta Belcher
General Counsel, Protocol Labs
Owen Cotton-Barratt
Research Fellow, FHI
Evan Miyazono
Protocol Labs
Dawn Song
Professor, Berkeley
Darren Zhu
Founder, Atoms.org
Juan Benet
Protocol Labs
Schedule
November 11, 2022
Intro: Closing The Innovation Chasm
Overview of the history and importance of public goods funding, and why new approaches are critical to pushing technological process forward
Juan Benet
8:00 PST / 16:00 UTC
Funding public goods — algorithms and mechanisms
A view of the latest thinking around novel public funding experiments and exciting new projects in the ecosystem
Vitalik Buterin
8:35 PST / 16:35 UTC
Quadratic funding on Gitcoin
A history of quadratic funding on one of the most mature public funding platforms in Web3
Kevin Owocki
9:20 PST / 17:20 UTC
Networked OKRs & Milestone Bounties
Protocol Lab's approach to aligning and funding ecosystem progress in a more decentralized fashion
Pooja Shah
9:40 PST / 17:40 UTC
Impact certificates and Impact Markets
The benefits of markets in altruistic impact, and what's needed to achieve them
Owen Cotton-Barratt
10:00 PST / 18:00 UTC
Story of a network-funded team
How Prysmatic Labs developed Prysm and other public goods using new funding mechanisms
Raul Jordan
11:10 PST / 19:10 UTC
How can public goods be profitable?
Miles (a16z General Counsel, Crypto) and Marta (Protocol Labs General Counsel) discuss the challenges and opportunities of creating sustainable, profitable public goods projects
Miles Jennings
Marta Belcher
11:30 PST / 19:30 UTC
Retroactive Public Goods Funding Experiment 1
Discussing the mechanisms, results and learnings of Optimism's first retroactive public goods award
Karl Floersch
12:30 PST / 20:30 UTC
S-process funding
Introducing the S-process, an algorithm that enables multiple funders to simultaneously delegate the optimization of funding decisions to overlapping groups of trusted advisors. This also allows the advisors to debate and coordinate in deciding the total amount of funding any particular project should receive
Andrew Critch
12:50 PST / 20:50 UTC
Impact Evaluators
Retroactive public goods funding for the broader Protocol Labs network
Evan Miyazono
13:40 PST / 21:40 UTC
Beyond Philanthropy: Memetic Altruism and Future Prizes
Incentives for funding public goods at scale
Darren Zhu
14:00 PST / 22:00 UTC
Data Commons for Public Good
Building a data economy to enable more responsible use of data, in order to maximize social welfare and economic efficiency while protecting users' data rights and enabling fair distribution of value
Dawn Song
14:10 PST / 22:10 UTC
Closing remarks
Breakout Room
Juan Benet
14:30 PST / 22:30 UTC
Previous Partners

Builder Residency 2023

Discover the power of collaboration and innovation at the Funding the Commons Berlin Residency, a month-long, immersive experience designed for builders and hackers. This intensive in-person program will take place in the vibrant city of Berlin from 1-30 September 2023, and will focus on public goods funding infrastructure, impact evaluators, impact certification systems, and other elements of the public goods funding stack. Both Web2 and Web3 projects and builders are eligible and encouraged to participate in this transformative event. The residency embodies our mission to foster the development of a sustainable decentralized funding ecosystem for public goods. Expect a bustling in-person hub for hackers, developers, and designers, engrossed in creating innovative solutions that advance the public goods funding ecosystem. The Berlin Residency is your chance to be part of an experiment in a purpose-driven community that drives change through applied technology and collaboration. Whether you're an individual developer or part of a project team, if you are ready to contribute to and learn from this vibrant community we invite you to apply. We value open-source and expect the outputs of the residency to be accessible and usable by the wider community.
Let's Fund Your Next Project
Artizen and Funding the Commons have partnered to launch a 10 ETH Match Fund to support projects that promote, celebrate, and develop public goods in diverse fields such as art, science, technology, and startups. We seek visionary proposals that demonstrate a commitment to interdisciplinary collaboration and innovation in the public goods sphere.

Istanbul 2023

d:pact is a day summit at the heart of Istanbul during DevConnect, 15th of November, which covers Media, Impact and Regenerative Movements. The summit is co-organized by Merkezsiz, a dynamic web3 media organization in Turkey, and Paribu Hub, the ecosystem hub of cryptocurrency exchange Paribu. It's an immersive experience that goes beyond technical jargon, diving deep into complex technical concepts from a non-technical perspective. Funding the Commons joins d:pact and Regens Unite as a content partner, adding another layer and depth to the discussions. This bustling metropolis is the perfect setting for a conference that delves into the realms of Media, Impact and Regenerative Movements. Its rich history, cultural diversity, and strategic location make it an ideal host for a gathering of forward-thinkers and changemakers. Istanbul's unique position as a bridge between continents symbolizes the very essence of d:pact - bridging gaps and connecting people. It's a melting pot of ideas, cultures, and perspectives, serving as a catalyst for stimulating discussions and forging meaningful connections. Istanbul's vibrant atmosphere fosters an environment where innovative approaches can thrive and drive positive change in our interconnected world. At its core, the purpose of the d:pact summit is to explore pressing questions that define our rapidly evolving world. How does the media influence society? How can we enhance public goods? How can regenerative movements promote sustainability? How does governance shape communities? How does culture impact our identities? These questions serve as our compass, guiding us through fresh talks, workshops, and discussions. In the heart of Istanbul, we invite you to embark on a journey of exploration. Together, we'll intensify our efforts to understand and harness the power of Web3's connectivity. It's not just a conference; it's a platform for collective sense-building and a celebration of the transformative potential that lies within our interconnected world.

Taipei 2023

Taipei is known as the land of digital democracy. Located in the center of Asia, Taipei presents itself with both traditional sceneries and Taipei is home to g0v, the civic tech community that plays a significant role in Taiwan’s digital democracy movement. Funding the Commons is working with da0, the web3 branch under g0v to create an one-and-only experience on public goods discussion. During December 2023, Taipei becomes the global headquarters of the blockchain industry for one week, as it hosts Taipei Blockchain Week, the rising conference series that focuses on connecting Taiwan and global community. As we set foot in Taipei, we will see a inspiring, innovative yet cultural environment that incubated strong public infrastructure, which creates a brand new dynamic for the 8th installment of Funding the Commons.
Let's be friends
Join us for the future
We excited to connect with you at our next event, but we'd rather not wait! If you support our mission and would like to get involved, please let us know how you'd prefer to participate.
Follow us
youtube channel
Sign up to receive our newsletter!

Subscribe

* indicates required
General inquiries
Please email us with any questions you have, and we look forward to speaking with you soon!